

Kata

Most martial arts styles have kata. Kata basically means forms, a predetermined set of movements designed to teach the student the skills needed for self defence (movement, power & focus). Shotokan has 26 katas, each with a different idea and focus. Below is a list of the katas.

Taikyoku Shodan: This is the most basic kata in Shotokan (optional)

- 1. Heian Shodan: "Peaceful Mind One" The first of the Heian series
- 2. Heian Nidan: "Peaceful Mind Two" The second of the Heian series.
- 3. Heian Sandan: "Peaceful Mind Three"
- 4. Heian Yondan: "Peaceful Mind Four"
- 5. Heian Godan: "Peaceful Mind Five"
- 6. Tekki Shodan: "Iron Horse Riding" The first in this series of Kata.
- 7. Tekki Nidan: "Iron Horse Riding Two"
- 8. Tekki Sandan: "Iron Horse Riding Three"
- 9. Bassai-Dai: "To Penetrate a Fortress"
- 10. Gankaku: "Crane on a Rock"
- 11. Empi: "Flying Swallow"
- Kanku-Dai: "To Look to the Sky"
- 13. Hangetsu: "Half Moon"
- 14. Jion: "Temple" or "Temple of love and goodness"
- 15. Jitte: "Ten Hands"
- 16. Bassai-Sho: The Lesser Bassai
- 17. Kanku-Sho: The Lesser Kanku
- 18. Chinte: Thought to have originated as a folk dance.
- 19. Sochin: "Grand Suppression"
- 20. Nijushiho: "Twenty-four Directions"
- 21. Meikyo: "Bright Mirror"
- 22. Gojushiho-Dai: "54 Directions"
- 23. Gojushiho-Sho: "The Lesser Gojushiho"
- 24. Unsu: "Cloud Hand"
- 25. Wankan: "Kings Crown" also known as Matsukaze
- 26. Jiin: "Temple Grounds"